Jeremy Filliben’s CCDE Practice Lab


I wanted to share my experience with one of Jeremy Filliben’s (CCDE #20090003) CCDE practice lab offerings. Jeremy offers both an enterprise and service provider practice lab. To start out, I opted for the enterprise version.

As advertised, I received the materials via email. When I opened the files I was pleasantly surprised to see that there was information on the practical test that I was not able to glean from any one other source. Jeremy did a great write up on the lab itself and the framework of the subjects that will be tested. He was able to help me understand a bit of the “method to the madness”.

The actual lab example was very well written and crafted in such a way to really make you think like the actual lab requires.  To fully comprehend the lab example requires an in depth understanding of the suite of items listed in the blueprint. I was surprised how much of the blueprint that could be covered in this single example.

Jeremy follows up the written materials with a review of the practical lab itself, some important things to know about the test and of course we went over the lab example line by line. During this review, I was able to really get a feel for what this beast of an exam would be doing to my brain.

I will say that after getting this understanding of what this exam is requiring, I have to agree with some others who have said that they didn’t think that a single class or bootcamp could give you everything that is needed to pass this exam. I believe that classes can definitely HELP with ones preparation, specifically with understanding the structure of the exam, but the onus is definitely on the candidate to take the time to learn and understand the technologies in the blueprint to the level that is required. Practical experience in the design, implementation and troubleshooting of networks is something that I feel is absolutely required to be successful in the CCDE track.

I can highly recommend to those that are on the CCDE journey to give Jeremy’s labs a try. The understanding of the test that I now have has made me reevaluate my preparation strategy and make adjustments to be better prepared.

More information of Jeremy’s CCDE practice materials can be found on his blog.

For Jeremy’s preparation study plans for both the CCDE written and practical check here.

Thanks

Larry Hadrava
CCIE #12203

Leave a Reply

